FEE INCREASE -- January 1, 2014
Effective January 1, 2014, the fee for certified copies of California birth, death, and fetal death certificates have increased by $5 each in accordance with Assembly Bill 1053 (Gordon, Chapter 402, Statutes of 2011) and Assembly Bill 110 (Blumenfield, Chapter 20, Statutes of 2013). Assembly Bill 110 also provides for a $1 increase in the fee for a certified copy of a marriage record.
|Current Fee||Fee Effective
January 1, 2014
|Certified Copy of Birth||$20||$25|
|Certified Copy of Death||$16||$21|
|Certified Copy of Fetal Death||$13||$18|
|Certified Copy of Marriage||$14||$15|
Because of the increased occurrence of identity theft, new laws were passed to protect birth and death records from misuse. Beginning July 1, 2003, the California Health and Safety Code Section 103526 permits only specific individuals to receive an authorized certified copy of a birth or death record. An authorized certified copy of a birth record is required to obtain a driver's license, passport, social security card and other services related to an individual's identity. An authorized certified copy of a death record may be required to obtain death benefits, claim insurance proceeds, notify social security and obtain other services related to an individual's identity. Those who do not meet the criteria for an authorized certified copy may receive an "informational" certified copy with the words "Informational, not a valid document to establish identity" imprinted across the face of the copy.
The following persons are authorized by law to receive a certified copy of a birth or death record: